Thread: what to charge as a freelancer?

what to charge as a freelancer?

Hi Everyone,

I've worked for game companies for the past 10 years a staff artist and am now going to be working freelance as well as being a full-time professor at a college. I'm going to be working for a company I've been a staff artist for in the past and have been asked how much my rates are.

When I worked in places in the past, I've seen outsourced 3D artists get paid as much as $15,000.00 for a single, next-gen character and the typical staff salary of a 10 year experienced artist would probably be somewhere between $60,000.00-80,000.00 a year where I live. I also saw a next gen character made for $4,000.00, so it seems like it's all over the map and of course, largely dependent on who you are.

I'm going to be making environment objects that are not next-gen (just diffuse map with relatively low poly count). What do you guys think is a standard way to go about this and (if there is a standard), what is a decent quote for an experienced artist? I'm not a well known industry guy like say... Craig Mullins is to 2D painting, but I have a solid resume of released titles and 10 years of experience/portfolio (which is not on-line at the moment).

Thanks for any help on this.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote #1

just calculate together what you'd need to live a decent live and transfer that to a hourly/daily rate, prices per asset always suck when you have to do a lot of changes... but 15000$ for one char, would love to get that money
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote #2

~ FIFTEEN THOUSAND FOR A SINGLE MODEL!?
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote #3

Hey,