Thread: UV Mapping software

UV Mapping software

What program do you use to do uv mapping ?.
    Im a little noob doing uv mapping and i want know what software its better to do this.

Thanks ^^.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote #1

I just use 3dsMax's unwrap system. Yeah its not the easiest to use but you have alot of control over the UV map. Doing a Youtube search for 3dsmax unwrap tutorials help explain alot of stuff.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote #2

For organics and characters, I will use Roadkill UV, the standalone version. It's a little harder to find since they updated it a long time ago to integrate with Maya, and I think he never updated it since then. But if you can find the free standalone version, it works nicely and has never let me down.

For hard surfaces, I just use Maya's integrated UV tools. Pelt mapping(like that found in Roadkill UV) produces strange results for hard surface objects. In Maya, I mostly use a combination of Cylindrical and fixed camera projections.

There are also several other ways to do it. 3D Coat does unwraps I believe, and Zbrush 4R2 and above come with the plugin installed for UV Master.

Good luck!
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote #3

4. osk
    RoadKill maya plugin is the best i found. simple and fast
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote #4

Currently I just use the uv tools in Blender 2.5 it's got a good pelt mapper and some of it's aligment tools are pretty handy.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote #5

Roadkill is free and extremely easy to use. It covers LCSM and ABF pelting. Roadkill doesn't produce unwraps with the least distortion by default. It takes a little relaxing and nudging to balance each island out. Roadkill doesn't offer automatic island packing like the commercial apps. For mid-density meshes, Roadkill is still a great option if you don't want to spend any money.